top of page

My Witch's Garden

Happy Monday!! Honestly though, I don't know one person that actually likes Mondays. Who wants the weekend to be over anyway?!

Well the DH and I purchased our house back here in good ole Pennsylvania last year in the middle of the summer. We bought this amazing 1950's brick ranch that was in dire need of a face lift and some TLC. We couldn't resist the one acre property with woods and fields flanking us on all sides...more room to garden, opportunities to expand, potential for hunting (sorry for those Vegan and Vegetarian readers), lots of room for little Leichliter's to run around! Needless to say, the house needed a lot of work on the inside (and still does), so the outside of the house was neglected and put on the back burner.

Now obviously you know from the rest of our website, that this blog really isn't a DIY blog. We're here to focus on alternative medicines and holistic approaches to healthy living. But who says you can't blend the two?

That brings me to my Witch's Garden.

I know what you're thinking...this lady is on the next level of CRAZY! Well yes, I am, sort of. So black magic, eye of newt, fat man's toe, or whatever the spell worthy ingredient may be is not what I'm referring to when I talk about a Witch's Garden, although that would probably be really neat...and probably creepy. Really what I'm referring to is more commonly known as a Medicinal Garden, but I like the term Witch's Garden much better. Brings more excitement to this project!

But honestly, Witch's Gardens are real things. There are people out there who practice spells with herbs, but not here. So I guess for our purposes, think more of Glinda the Good Witch as opposed to the Wicked Witch of the West.

So back to my crazy Witch's Garden. The landscaping and curb appeal of our house was absolutely horrendous. We had three very LARGE AND OVERPOWERING rhododendrons that were taking over what was supposed to be a landscape. Needless to say, as soon as it was nice enough to do anything outside, I cut those babies right to the ground.

Oh here...a picture of our lovely landscape when we bought the house. You can't even see the biggest rhododendron from this picture. And those windows and front door...YUCK! (those have been since changed).

Skeletonex Pre-Medicinal Garden

Here's where those pesky rhododendrons are. The only good plants we found in our landscape were some hidden lilies, two nice purpleaf sand cherry bush and a BOATLOAD of strawberry plants that we are replanting elsewhere on our property.

Skeletonex Pre-Medicinal Garden Rhododendrons

Now I have three ginormous root knots that the DH and I are absolutely not equipped to deal with. By the time we would rent equipment and run the risk of hitting our house with it, we can call in some professionals and get in done faster, and in this case, probably cheaper than doing it ourselves. Lucky for us, we know some pretty amazing people over at Mulch King Enterprises that are going to take care of these for us.

Our glorious roots...and the makeshift water drain from our downspout...looks uh....terrible.

Rhododendron Roots

When reinvigorating our front landscape, I thought to myself why don't we plant something useful? Don't get me wrong, I love flowers and shrubs and bushes, but if I'm going to spend money on plants, why not make them dual purpose?

Over the next few weeks, I'm going to take you along through our journey on our medicinal garden layout, selecting medicinal plants, their health benefits, and what you can do with these magical (no pun intended) plants. Until then...

Be Natural. Be Honest. Be Healthy.

Bri

Disclaimer:
Please see our Disclaimer in the About Us section.

Skeletonex is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page